Student Awards

This award recognizes a student or a student group that:

  • Demonstrates commitment to building or enhancing campus-based efforts to address community needs
  • Leads, inspires, and engages other students, members of the institution, or community
  • Demonstrates efforts to sustain their work through developing strategies for institutional and community commitment
  • Students or student groups are nominated by your institution.

Congratulations to  Alex Farmer of  Salt Lake Community College, Aimee Urbina of Weber State University, and Teresa Bagdasarova of Westminster College for winning a 2018 Newman Civic Fellowship.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a one-year fellowship for community-committed college students from Campus Compact member institutions. The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders and a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education.

In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors are annually invited to nominate one community-committed student from their institution for the fellowship.  Nominees for the fellowship must have at least one year of their education remaining (either at their current institution or another one), and must be planning to be enrolled in higher education for the full academic year. These nominees are individuals who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country and abroad.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides a variety of learning and networking opportunities, including a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows in partnership with the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate. The fellowship also provides fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities. Fellows from Utah also have access to the Utah Active Engagement Retreat and Western Region Campus Compact Continuums of Service Conference.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is supported by the KPMG Foundation and Newman’s Own Foundation.

For more information see the National Campus Compact website.