Newman Civic Fellows

February 6, 2018

Congratulations to  Alex Farmer of  Salt Lake Community College, Aimee Urbina of Weber State University, and Teresa Bagdasarova of Westminster College for winning a 2018 Newman Civic Fellowship.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a one-year fellowship for community-committed college students from Campus Compact member institutions. The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders and a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education.

In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors are annually invited to nominate one community-committed student from their institution for the fellowship. These nominees are individuals who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country and abroad.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides a variety of learning and networking opportunities, including a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows in partnership with the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate. The fellowship also provides fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and post-graduate opportunities. Fellows from Utah also have access to the Utah Active Engagement Retreat and Western Region Campus Compact Continuums of Service Conference.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is supported by the KPMG Foundation and Newman’s Own Foundation.